Michigan Senate

(Loading map data.)

Michigan House / Michigan Senate

Click a district for more information.

2018 Election Update

After the 2016 election, Republicans controlled the Michigan State Senate 27-11. Heading into the 2018 election, Republicans controlled the chamber 27-10 with one vacancy. In the 2018 election, Democrats flipped five seats, cutting the Republican majority to 22-16.

EveryDistrict endorsed four of the five successful Democratic challengers: Rosemary Bayer (SD 12), Mallory McMorrow (SD 13), Sean McCann (SD 20), and Winnie Brinks (SD 29). Democrats also flipped SD 7.

EveryDistrict identified an additional six competitive districts and endorsed candidates in five of those districts: Henry Yanez (SD 10), Kelly Rossman-McKinney (SD 24), Phil Phelps (SD 32), Poppy Sias-Hernandez (SD 34), and Scott Dianda (SD 38).

The below table shows 2018 election results. LDI scores are for the 2018 cycle. The Michigan State Senate will next be on the ballot in 2022.

Understanding the Map

EveryDistrict’s Legislative District Index (LDI) is the gold standard of state legislative competitiveness. Our LDI ranks state legislative districts on a scale from 100 to -100, using statewide elections data. Districts with a score of 100 would vote for statewide Democratic candidates by an average of 100 points (with the Democratic candidate receiving 100% of the vote); districts with a score of -100 would vote for statewide Republican candidates by an average of 100 points (with the Republican candidate receiving 100% of the vote). For a more realistic example, a district with a score of 10 would vote for statewide Democratic candidates by an average of 10 points (meaning we would expect the Democratic state legislative candidate to win with 55% of the vote compared to the Republican winning 45% of the vote).

After the 2018 election, EveryDistrict reviewed and enhanced our LDI system, improving the accuracy of the metric with new methodologies and the most recent electoral data.

For more information about EveryDistrict’s LDI, please click here.