New Hampshire Senate

(Loading map data.)

New Hampshire House / New Hampshire Senate

Click a district for more information.

2020 Election Results

Heading into the 2020 election, Democrats controlled the New Hampshire Senate 14 to 10. Democrats lost four seats (SDs 9, 11, 12, and 23) for a net loss of four seats. Republicans now control the chamber 14 to 10. 

The below table shows 2020 and 2018 election results for the New Hampshire Senate. The LDI scores are for the 2020 cycle. EveryDistrict will release new scores and district rankings after the redistricting process.

2018 Election Update

After the 2016 election, Republicans controlled the New Hampshire State Senate 14-10. In the 2018 election, Democrats flipped five Republican-held seats and lost one Democratic-held seat to take control of the chamber 14-10.

Democrats won SD 9, SD 11, SD 12, SD 23, and SD 24. Democrats lost SD 1.

Understanding the Map

EveryDistrict’s Legislative District Index (LDI) is the gold standard of state legislative competitiveness. Our LDI ranks state legislative districts on a scale from 100 to -100, using statewide elections data. Districts with a score of 100 would vote for statewide Democratic candidates by an average of 100 points (with the Democratic candidate receiving 100% of the vote); districts with a score of -100 would vote for statewide Republican candidates by an average of 100 points (with the Republican candidate receiving 100% of the vote). For a more realistic example, a district with a score of 10 would vote for statewide Democratic candidates by an average of 10 points (meaning we would expect the Democratic state legislative candidate to win with 55% of the vote compared to the Republican winning 45% of the vote).

After the 2018 election, EveryDistrict reviewed and enhanced our LDI system, improving the accuracy of the metric with new methodologies and the most recent electoral data.

For more information about EveryDistrict’s LDI, please click here.